Popular on eTradeWire

Similar on eTradeWire

National Lacrosse League Announces 2019-20 NLL Award Winners

eTradeWire News/10573579
Georgia's Jackson MVP, New York's Gibson Top Rookie, Georgia's Thompson Sportsmanship Winner For Third Straight Year

PHILADELPHIA - eTradeWire -- The National Lacrosse League (@NLL), the longest running and most successful professional lacrosse league in the world, officially announced the 2019-20 NLL Award winners. Awards are voted on by head coaches, general managers, and the League's Board of Governors.

Like all major sports, the 2019-2020 season was interrupted, and ultimately cut short due to COVID-19. There was over 15 weeks of game play and much success for the players, teams, and fans of NLL's 13 active franchises—including two competing for the first time this year. All three divisions featured tight races with three or more teams within two games of the lead, the launch of the Alterna Cup Series, and thrilling overtime victories.

"In an unusual year we congratulate such exceptional players coaches and executives," said NLL Commissioner, Nick Sakiewicz.  "At the end of each season we award top performers and they epitomize everything that is good about the game of lacrosse on and off the field."

More on eTradeWire News
Peter Schmitz, President, Professional Lacrosse Players' Association (PLPA), also shared his praise, "On behalf of the PLPA, I'd like to congratulate all the award winners for their excellence, commitment, and success. We wish to recognize the effort and talent that it takes to win these awards."

The voting resulted in major award winners representing a wide array of squads, showcasing the competitive balance of talent and high-level competition in the NLL. Earning the Most Valuable Player Award was Shayne Jackson of the Georgia Swarm. Jackson finished the year with 31 goals and 42 assists totaling 73 points while leading the league in even strength assists with 36.

The Rookie of the Year was New York Riptide star, Tyson Gibson, the first overall selection by the expansion franchise in the 2019 Entry Draft. Gibson scored 16 goals and had 27 assists for 43 points, leading the team in the Riptide's inaugural season.

For the third year in a row, Georgia's Lyle Thompson won the Sportsmanship Award. He is the only NLL (http://www.nll.com) player to ever win it three consecutive times since the award debuted in 2002.

More on eTradeWire News
Most Valuable Player: Shayne Jackson, Georgia
Rookie of the Year: Tyson Gibson, N.Y.
Sportsmanship Award: Lyle Thompson, Georgia
Defensive Player of the Year: Graeme Hossack, Halifax
Transition Player of the Year: Challen Rogers, Toronto
Goaltender of the Year: Doug Jamieson, New England
Teammate of the Year: Dan Dawson, Toronto, AND Mike Poulin, Georgia (t)
Les Bartley Award Coach of the Year: Paul Day, Philadelphia
General Manager of the Year: Paul Day, Philadelphia
Tom Borrelli Award Media Member of the Year: Craig Rybczynski, Rochester
Executive of the Year: John Catalano, Halifax

Media Contact
Jerry Milani

Source: NLL
Filed Under: Sports

Show All News | Report Violation