Legendary WHBQ-AM Inducted Into TN Radio Hall of Fame

eTradeWire News/10639294
MEMPHIS, Tenn. - eTradeWire -- In 2020, the Tennessee Radio Hall of Fame announced they were inducting WHBQ AM 560 in as the legendary station of the year. Due to Covid the award ceremony never happened until 2021 when owner George Flinn, former DJ and local Weatherman Dave Brown along with current Operations Manager Chris Taylor had a chance to accept the award. On Saturday night we got to represent the amazing history of the station. It signed on March 25, 1925 and through many years many talented people had a chance to be a part of that legendary radio station including Wink Martindale, Rick Dees, Tom Kent… And Dewey Phillips playing the first Elvis record "Thats Alright Mama"!!  Flinn Broadcasting and George S. Flinn, Jr. own television and radio stations throughout the United States. Flinn Broadcasting Corporation is based in Memphis, Tennessee. WHBQ-AM, WHBQ-FM, KXHT-FM, WIVG-FM, WMPS-AM. The Tennessee Radio Hall Of Fame Community - Celebrating the rich radio heritage of the Volunteer State.  Documenting, preserving, and honoring the people and stations shaping the art and science of radio broadcasting throughout the state of Tennessee.

More on eTradeWire News
Chris Taylor

Source: Flinn Broadcasting
Filed Under: Media

Show All News | Report Violation