Popular on eTradeWire

Similar on eTradeWire

Federal Commission on Women's Right To Vote Names New Chairs

eTradeWire News/10531755
WASHINGTON - eTradeWire -- The Women's Suffrage Centennial Commission announced the election of Susan Combs as Chairwoman and Colleen Shogan as Vice Chairwoman of the federal organization charged with commemorating the centennial anniversary of women's voting rights. Combs succeeds Kay Coles James, President of the Heritage Foundation and Colleen Shogan follows former Senator Barbara Mikulski. James and Mikulski nominated their replacements.

"The amazing accomplishments of this outstanding commission are proof that people with diverse points of view can work together for the common good," said James. "It has been one of the highest honors of my professional career to work alongside Senator Barbara Mikulski."

"We are tremendously proud of the work that all of us have done to get the commission off to a great start with the milestones we have celebrated and we continue to be committed and believe in the mission of the commission," James added.

Sen. Mikulski (Ret.) echoed the sentiments, saying, "After kicking off our commemorative efforts on Capitol Hill and at the Smithsonian's National Portrait Gallery, the Library of Congress, and the National Archives, Kay and I are excited to hand over leadership of the Commission to two exceptional women, Susan Combs of Interior and Colleen Shogan of the Library of Congress. Both women are ideally positioned for the next phase of the Commission's work, which will focus on commemorations across this great nation mirroring the race to ratification 100 years ago. I have been honored to serve as Vice Chairwoman of this bi-partisan Commission and look forward to continue serving alongside my fellow Commissioners as we commemorate Women's Suffrage in America."

More on eTradeWire News
"Kay Coles James has been a tremendous leader, and I am thankful to my fellow commissioners for choosing me to succeed her," Combs said. "The accomplishments of the suffragists we honor with our work, and the legacy of the 19th Amendment must echo in the halls and households of America this year and every year.  We take our responsibility very seriously to ensure a suitable commemoration for this historic moment."

Shogan added, "I'm deeply honored and humbled to succeed Senator Barbara Mikulski as the Vice Chair of this commission. I look forward to sharing the inspirational, diverse stories of the women's suffrage movement with the American public as we enter the centennial year of the 19th Amendment's enactment."

Commission Members:

Chairwoman Susan Combs
- Susan Combs is the Assistant Secretary for Policy, Management and Budget, U.S. Department of the Interior where she works on policy development, management reforms to align efforts among the bureaus and stewardship of Interior's fiscal resources.

Vice Chairwoman Colleen Shogan - Colleen Shogan is the Asst. Deputy Librarian for Collections and Services Library of Congress and an adjunct professor of government at Georgetown University.

More on eTradeWire News
Jovita Carranza - Treasurer, United States of America
Kay Coles James - President, The Heritage Foundation
Marjorie Dannenfelser - President, Susan B. Anthony List
Heather Higgins - CEO, Independent Women's Voice
Karen Hill - President and CEO, Harriet Tubman Home
Julissa Marenco - Asst. Secretary for Communications and External Affairs, Smithsonian
Barbara Mikulski - Former Senator
Nicola Miner - Philanthropist and Professor, College of San Mateo
Cleta Mitchell - Partner, Foley & Lardner LLP
Penny Nance - President, Concerned Women for America
Jennifer Siebel Newsom - Documentary Filmmaker and First Partner of California
Debra Steidel Wall - Deputy Archivist, The National Archives

Dee Dee Bass Wilbon

Source: Women's Suffrage Centennial Commission
Filed Under: Government

Show All News | Report Violation

1000 characters max.

Latest on eTradeWire News