Popular on eTradeWire

Similar on eTradeWire

Currier Repeats as Transition Player of the Year, Del Bianco and Harris Take Home First Awards

eTradeWire News/10732113
Zach Currier becomes fourth player to repeat as Transition Player of the Year

PHILADELPHIA - eTradeWire -- The National Lacrosse League (@NLL), the largest and most successful professional lacrosse property in the world, today announced the winners of the Transition Player of the Year, Goaltender of the Year and Defensive Player of the Year.

Zach Currier, 28, (Peterborough, ON) becomes the fourth player to win back-to-back Transition Player of the Year awards, joining Challen Rogers, Jordan MacIntosh, and Brodie Merrill, and the fifth player to win twice (Joey Cupido in 2015 and 2018). This season, Currier finished with 15 goals, 18 assists, 228 loose ball recoveries (second in the NLL), 43 caused turnovers (second in NLL) and 18 blocked shots. Currier, one of the most consistent players in the NLL on any given night, finished the 2021-22 campaign with similar numbers with 10 goals, nine assists, 237 loose ball recoveries, 62 caused turnovers and 11 blocked shots.
  • Zach Currier – 440 points
  • Challen Rogers – 264 points
  • Reid Bowering – 179 points

Christian Del Bianco, 25 (Coquitlam, BC) is taking home his first Goaltender of the Year trophy. He is the first Calgary goaltender to win the award since Mike Poulin in 2012. Del Bianco finished the season with the best save percentage among goalies with at least 120 minutes played and finished fourth in total saves. His 9.28 goals against average was second to Nick Rose, the only two players with a sub-10 goals against average. With Del Bianco in net, he helped lead Calgary to a franchise best 13-5 record, playing a league record 1080:19 minutes between the pipes. He is also a finalist for the Most Valuable Player award with the winner announced shortly.
  • Christian Del Bianco – 594 points
  • Nick Rose – 441 points
  • Matt Vinc – 276 points

Latrell Harris, 25, (St. Catharines, ON) makes it back-to-back seasons for the Rock taking this award, with teammate Mitch de Snoo winning last season. Among defenseman, he led the league in points with 30 on 10 goals and 20 assists. He is the fourth member of the Rock to win the award, joining de Snoo, Sandy Chapman and Pat Coyle. Harris finished the season with 108 loose ball recoveries, 24 caused turnovers, 10 blocked shots and only committing four penalty minutes on the team that allowed a league low, 9.11 goals per game.
  • Latrell Harris – 357 points
  • Graeme Hossack – 293 points
  • Brad Kri – 162 points

More on eTradeWire News
Media Contact
Jerry Milani

Source: National Lacrosse League
Filed Under: Sports, Lacrosse

Show All News | Report Violation


Latest on eTradeWire News